The Liturgy Commission is responsible to the Archbishop for the promotion of the liturgy and other acts of public worship in the Archdiocese of Southwark.

The role of the Commission is to be informed about the practice of the liturgy in the Diocese and developments in liturgical matters (nationally and globally). The Commission also makes recommendations to the Archbishop, and to the Departments and Committees of the Bishops' Conference of England and Wales on liturgical matters, and promotes practical schemes to assist priests and parish liturgy committees in their work of planning and executing liturgical celebrations and of liturgical formation.

The Commission carries out its work normally though different committees which advise on the building, decoration and furnishing of churches; develops training for liturgical committees and ministers in the parishes; as well as providing assistance in the planning of Diocesan liturgical celebrations (particularly in terms of music). The constitution (2015) can be found at the foot of the page.

The three Committees carrying out the work of the Commission are:

  • Liturgical Formation
  • Music
  • Art and Architecture

Liturgy Commission Constitution

Liturgy Commission

More to explore

Committees & Constitution

Continue reading
Ordination 2 Anointing Of Hands

Rites & Pastoral Liturgy

Continue reading

Diocesan Calendar & Music Planner

Continue reading